Sunnier South End Site Header with text Facebook circle white large Twitter square white large

2017 AGM


(Registered Charity No. 249790)


Notice of the 61st AGM


to be held on Saturday 8th July 2017 at

Prenteg Community Hall, beginning at 2pm.




1. Chairman's Introduction


2. Apologies for Absence


3. To approve the Minutes of the 60th AGM held in Prenteg on 2nd July 2016


4. Report of Council for the year ended 31st December 2016


5. Adoption of the Trustees’ Report and Accounts for the year ended 31st December 2016


6. Election of Trustees and Officers

The current Trustees and Officers

Chair: Dianne Charles

Secretary: Andrew Lawrence

Treasurer: Dianne Charles

Alicia Normand

Joe Brownlie


have indicated their willingness to stand for re-election.


The Trustees voted Dai Stacey and Mark Simmonds to join the trustee group in March. They are prepared to stand for election at this AGM.


7. Any other business.


Please see below for further information relating to the AGM


*Directions to Prenteg Community Hall.

Prenteg Village lies shortly beyond Tremadog on the A498 to Beddgelert. FromTremadog direction the village hall ‘Canolfan’ is on the left of the A498 and on the right if travelling from Beddgelert.

Council of BBFO since AGM 2016:


President: The Right Reverend David Hawkins, Bishop of Barking

Vice Presidents: Tony Bianchi, Bevan Craddock, Peter Hope Jones, Mike West



Dianne Charles

Peter Howlett

Alicia Normand

Andrew Lawrence



Chairman: Peter Howlett

Treasurer: Dianne Charles

Hon. Secretary: Andrew Lawrence


Advisory Committee:

Jill Lawrence (Membership services)

Mel Stacey (Fundraising Co-ordinator)

Gwyn Stacey (Young Persons Co-ordinator)

Jo Jones

Representing Friends of Bardsey Bird Observatory:

Ann Owen-Vaughan, Ann West, Bevan Healey, Simon Hugheston-Roberts, Dale Brown and Val Archer

Representing West Midlands Bird Club:

Nick Barlow and Bob Normand

Representing the Wildlife Trust South & West Wales:

Dai Stacey

Representing North Wales Wildlife Trust:

Kate Gibbs


Notice of resignation or nomination of Trustees should be submitted in writing to the Hon. Sec. at least 14 days prior to the AGM. i.e. for receipt by 24th June 2017. Nominations must be signed by a member entitled to vote at the meeting, state the intention to propose the nomination of a person as a Trustee and whether they are standing as one of the Officers and be signed by the person proposed, to show his or her willingness to be appointed. The person proposed must also be a current member.


Please download and use this form to nominate someone as a Trustee.


The Trustees wish to manage the Charity with the support and advice of the President, Vice-Presidents and the members of an Advisory Committee. Trustees are empowered to make Rules or bye-laws as they see fit for the conduct of the Charity. The Trustees, President, Vice Presidents and Advisory Committee together are collectively known as the ‘Council’ and meet once a year with the Trustees meeting a further three times.


Council will appoint members of the Advisory Committee. Members of this committee perform vital services in the effective running of the Observatory. Council welcomes any member who wishes to offer assistance in any way to volunteer for co-option to the committee.